But I’ve managed to find recent tests made in 2017 and 2018, where the color red #40 is being tested on animals, more specifically on mice. They also offer you a range of packaging options to better fit your needs, namely bags or boxes of different sizes.eval(ez_write_tag([[336,280],'veganfoundry_com-medrectangle-4','ezslot_2',635,'0','0'])); However, the question you’re waiting to be answered is — are Welch’s Fruit Snacks vegan? The original fruit flavored snacks … Therefore, because there is a connection between anything artificial and animal cruelty, vegans that have stricter views or principles avoid artificial ingredients.eval(ez_write_tag([[250,250],'veganfoundry_com-leader-1','ezslot_5',639,'0','0'])); The same can be said for artificial colors. In addition, it also has questionable ingredients that may or may not be vegan. eval(ez_write_tag([[580,400],'veganfoundry_com-large-leaderboard-2','ezslot_3',638,'0','0']));The reason most stringent vegans avoid natural flavors is because they can be either plant or animal-based, not to mention the fact some companies may hide animal ingredients (i.e: honey or castoreum) under the “natural flavors” guise. Put simply, gelatin is a protein obtained by boiling the tendons, skin, ligaments and/or bones of cows and pigs. The reason sugar is questionable is simple, but it all boils down to the refining process practiced by each sugar company or supplier.eval(ez_write_tag([[250,250],'veganfoundry_com-large-mobile-banner-1','ezslot_4',640,'0','0'])); Typically, sugar comes from two sources: sugarcanes and beets. DISCLAIMER: This post may contain affiliate links. With over 10 mouthwatering Welch’s Fruit Snacks flavor varieties to love, it’s easy to find your favorite! 99 With Welch’s Fruit Snacks, we’re not entirely sure because they’re using gelatin. Welch's® Fruit Snacks. Available in: BAGS: 2.25, 5, or 8oz bags. Comment document.getElementById("comment").setAttribute( "id", "af9da32b9a1d7d3e684621d097f7ddb8" );document.getElementById("f4a2698b26").setAttribute( "id", "comment" ); Copyright ©2020, Totally The Bomb.com. Welch’s Fruit Snacks contain gelatin, a protein obtained from animals such as pigs and cows. Instead of conducting the tests on humans, animals are usually the subject of choice, particularly mice. If not click here to follow! She's known for her contagious laugh and always having a positive attitude! Required fields are marked *. The fruit snacks are made with real fruit and are available in multiple varieties. Site by. Bone char, also known as natural carbon, is a decolorizing and deashing agent used by sugar industries to give sugar its white, immaculate color. Fruit snacks with a particular theme — tropical, for example — may include more exotic flavors like guava, mango, or fruit … Starting in January of 2020, Welch’s is replacing our current 10oz juice bottle with a new, lighter … Welch’s is committed to finding ways to help the environment, from our farmer’s fields to our products on shelf. Available in over 10 varieties, in which Fruit is our 1st Ingredient! According to Welch’s ingredient list, the new liquid filling is made out of real fruit purée and I can’t wait to try it! Surely you have joined our super awesome Facebook group, right? Each is made with Real Fruit for a mouthwatering experience the whole family can enjoy. This means that artificial flavors may be a one & done deal. If you wish to know in further detail how gelatin is made, feel free to watch the video below: There is a slight difference between natural and artificial flavors. As a result, I’ve compiled a list of fruit snacks advertised as vegan-friendly: Keep in mind that some of these products contain a number of the few “questionable” ingredients we have covered in this blog post. Popular flavors include orange, cherry, grape, and watermelon. The original fruit flavored snacks don’t have a juicy filling like the newer packs. A post shared by Snack Queen Sara Miss Piggy (@snack.queen.sara). Affiliate Disclosure Because there are modern alternatives like activated carbon and ion-exchange resins, you also have companies that don’t use bone char in the United States. Because this is an ongoing practice, stricter vegans also avoid artificial colors. In light of that, if you’re heavily against the use of bone char, you can always ask the company via phone or email. As you might expect, all the flavors are fruit inspired. Fruit puree (grape, apple, orange, cherry and pineapple), corn syrup, sugar, modified corn starch, gelatin, citric acid, lactic acid, natural and artificial flavors, ascorbic acid (vitamin C), alpha tocopherol acetate (vitamin E), vitamin A palmitate, sodium citrate, coconut oil, carnauba wax, and red 40. Nevertheless, in some cases, it’s obvious that the word “natural flavors” is referring to ingredients extracted from plant-based sources, which is what most likely happens with fruit-flavored beverages. Bone char is obtained by carbonizing the bones of cattle, which results in a black powder that is quite similar to charcoal. It’s also capable of removing inorganic impurities like sulfates, as well as ions of magnesium and calcium. She comes from a family of writers, so it practically runs in her blood! She has a bubbly and upbeat personality, which will often show throughout her writing. If you’re searching for vegan fruit snacks, Welch’s Fruit Snacks is not the right option. Welch’s is an American company owned by the National Grape Cooperative Association, a co-op of grape owners since 1956. Unfortunately, they all have an identical ingredients list:eval(ez_write_tag([[336,280],'veganfoundry_com-banner-1','ezslot_1',637,'0','0'])); In any variation, you’ll find these five ingredients: gelatin, natural and artificial flavors, artificial colors, and refined sugar. Hey there! Gelatin has different uses in the food industry. BOXES: .9oz bags in a variety of box sizes (10, 22, 40, 66, 80, 90 count)